Murder, She Wrote Books

Disclosure: The following contains affiliate links, meaning I may receive a small commission if you click through and make a purchase, at no additional cost to you. Click here to read the full Affiliate Disclosure.

Murder, She Wrote exists not only on screen but in print as well. Below is an overview of various MSW-related books that have been published throughout the years.

It goes from biographies of people involved in the show, to the MSW spin-off novel series, to the MSW novelizations, and finally miscellaneous MSW-related books.


If you are in love with the characters on the show, you may be interested in reading about the life of the actors that portrayed those characters.

There are also biographies of the producers and creators of the show that offer a glimpse of what went on behind the scenes.

Me and Murder, She Wrote by Peter S. Fischer (co-creator of MSW)
Becoming Superman by J. Michael Straczynski (who joined the production crew of MSW for Season 8 and 9, and who was responsible for Jessica Fletcher’s move to New York City)

Murder, She Wrote spin-off novels

Fans of the show may not be aware of the series of Murder, She Wrote spin-off novels that have been published. These are supposedly (co-)written by Jessica Fletcher, and feature more of her adventures along with other characters from the show.

The following is a list of all the novels published so far. Most of these were written by Donald Bain, who was the original author of the series. In his later years, Bain worked alongside his daughter Renée Paley-Bain. Eventually, after Bain’s death, the series was taken over by Jon Land.

  1. Gin and Daggers (1st edition published in 1989)
    • (re-released as a 2nd edition in 2000)
    • I wrote a brief review of the book here.
  2. Manhattans and Murder (1994)
  3. Rum and Razors (1995)
  4. Brandy and Bullets (1995)
  5. Martinis and Mayhem (1995)
  6. A Deadly Judgment (1996)
  7. A Palette for Murder (1996)
  8. The Highland Fling Murders (1997)
  9. Murder on the QE2 (1997)
  10. Murder in Moscow (1998)
  11. A Little Yuletide Murder (1998)
  12. Murder at the Powderhorn Ranch (1999)
  13. Knock ’em Dead (1999)
  14. Trick or Treachery (2000)
  15. Blood on the Vine (2001)
  16. Murder in a Minor Key (2001)
  17. Provence – to Die for (2002)
  18. You Bet Your Life (2002)
  19. Majoring in Murder (2003)
  20. Destination Murder (2003)
  21. Dying to Retire (2004)
  22. A Vote for Murder (2004)
  23. The Maine Mutiny (2005)
  24. Margaritas and Murder (2005)
  25. A Question of Murder (2006)
  26. Three Strikes and You’re Dead (2006)
  27. Coffee, Tea, or Murder? (2007)
  28. Panning for Murder (2007)
  29. Murder on Parade (2008)
  30. A Slaying in Savannah (2008)
  31. Madison Avenue Shoot (2009)
  32. A Fatal Feast (2009)
  33. Nashville Noir (2010)
  34. The Queen’s Jewels (2010)
  35. Skating on Thin Ice (2011)
  36. The Fine Art of Murder (2011)
  37. Trouble at High Tide (2012)
  38. Domestic Malice (2012)
  39. Prescription for Murder (2013)
  40. Close-Up on Murder (2013)
  41. Aloha Betrayed (2014)
  42. Death of a Blue Blood (2014)
  43. Killer in the Kitchen (2015)
  44. The Ghost and Mrs. Fletcher with Renée Paley-Bain (2015)
  45. Design for Murder with Renée Paley-Bain (2016)
  46. Hook, Line and Murder with Renée Paley-Bain (2016)
  47. A Date with Murder with Jon Land (2018)
  48. Manuscript for Murder by Jon Land (2018)
    • I wrote a brief review of the book here.
  49. Murder in Red by Jon Land (2019)
    • I wrote a brief review of the book here.
  50. A Time for Murder by Jon Land (2019)

Click here for pricing and availability on

Murder, She Wrote novelizations

Prior to the spin-off series by Donald Bain, there was an attempt to publish novelizations of some of the early MSW episodes.

There were three such novelizations published in 1985, all written by James Anderson.

A fourth one was published in 1986; this time, written by David Deutch.

  • Murder in Two Acts (based on “Sing a Song of Murder” and “Murder in the Afternoon” from season 2)

The books are no longer in print, so they’re quite hard to find.

Miscellaneous Murder, She Wrote publications

Following the series finale in 1996, there was quite a large interest in documenting the series. Shortly after, in 1997, a couple series-related books appeared on store shelves.

The Murder She Wrote Cookbook, recipes from the cast and crew

If you know of any books related to Murder, She Wrote that are not currently listed above, let me know in the comments!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: